Past Meetings

Minutes of the meeting held with the Minister, Nigel Huddleston MP

Meeting held on: Wednesday 7th October 2020

Meeting location: Remote meeting via Microsoft Teams

Attendees: The Minister and his DCMS team

Members of the APBGG

The discussion focused on the forthcoming review of the Gambling Act 2005

DCMS were at the early stages of organising the Review

Minutes of the Extraordinary General Meeting

Meeting held on:         Tuesday, 22nd September 2020 from 6pm to 6.15pm

Meeting location:        Remote meeting via Zoom


Steve Donoughue (Secretariat)

Laurence Robertson MP

Annie Robertson

Viscount Astor

Lord Watts

Lord Moynihan (Vice Chair)

John Spellar MP (Vice Chair)

Conor McGinn MP (Vice Chair)

Dame Rosie Winterton MP

Aaron Bell MP

Lord Lipsey

Martin Vickers MP

Sheryll Murray MP

Mark Tami MP


Philip Davies MP, Helen Grant MP, Mark Pritchard MP, Scott Benton MP


John Spellar MP until the election of the Chair, then the Chair

  1. The meeting was declared quorate (5 members from either House) as 12 Parliamentarians were in attendance.
  2. The Chair requested nominations for the position of Chair to replace Philip Davies MP who has stepped down.
  3. Laurence Robertson MP was the only nomination and was elected unanimously
  4. Nominations for the position of Vice Chair had been presented by Mark Pritchard MP, Scott Benton MP and Aaron Bell MP.
  5. All Vice Chair nominations were elected unanimously
  6. The Officers of the Parliamentary All Party Betting & Gaming Group were declared to be:

Laurence Robertson MP and Baroness Golding – Co-Chairs

Lord Moynihan, John Spellar MP, Conor McGinn MP, Lord Mancroft, Lord Smith of Hindhead, Mark Pritchard MP, Scott Benton MP and Aaron Bell MP – Vice Chairs

Lord Donoughue – Secretary

  1. AOB: The DCMS Minister responsible for gambling, Nigel Huddleston MP has asked to meet with the Group ahead of the government’s Review of the Gambling Act 2005. It will be a Zoom meeting on Wednesday 7th October at 2.30pm.
  1. The meeting was ended due to time pressure of votes

Minutes written by the Secretariat


What do we do?

Discussing policy, engaging with stakeholders.
Find out more

Latest News

Read the latest developments from our meetings.
Find out more
Copyright Parliamentary All-Party Betting & Gaming Group 2020.
Disclaimer: This is not an official website of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its Committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed on this website are those of the Group. Nothing on this website may be copied, distributed or re-published, without the express permission of the All-Party Betting & Gaming Group.